The Bible is the greatest book ever written. The word “Bible” actually means, “book” and the phrase, “Holy Bible,” simply means, “The Sacred Book.” The Bible was written over a period of 1,500 years by 40 different authors from many different walks of life.

Each author wrote down the words that God inspired them to write (2 Peter 1:21). This is why, despite there being 40 different authors, the message throughout the entire Bible is perfectly unified, without error, and essential for godly living (2 Timothy 3:16-17).


1 Corinthians 9:24-27, “24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”



SPIRITUAL DISCIPLINES are the commands and practices a disciple “show” in their life to “grow” spiritually. The growing disciple will be transformed in their behavior by being renewed in their mind (Romans 12:2) for the purpose of reflecting the image of God.


THINK ABOUT THIS… “Spiritual Growth” is between “New Birth” and “Renewal & Transformation” because without it the new believer cannot daily reflect Christ’s image. “Spiritual Disciplines/Showing” is between “Knowing” and “Growing” because without them we cannot develop godly attributes.





The message of the Bible can be summarized in the following “Seven Acts:”

  1. ACT ONE: “Creation and the Fall”: God created the world, perfect, but mankind fell into sin (Genesis 1-11).
  2. ACT TWO: “Gathering a People”: God chose Abraham and his descendants to be His chosen people (Genesis 12-50).
  3. ACT THREE: “Separating a People”: God raised up Moses and other prophets to teach the Jewish people His commandments (Exodus-2 Samuel).
  4. ACT FOUR: “Maintaining God’s Holiness”: God judged His people and sent them into other nations as prisoners when they did not obey His laws or listen to His prophets (1-2 Kings).
  5. ACT FIVE: “Saving a People”: God sent His Son, Jesus, into the world to live a sinless life, die on the cross, rise from the dead, and establish the church (first with the Jewish people and then the Gentiles) (Matthew-John).
  6. ACT SIX: “Gathering a People”: God is working through the Holy Spirit in the church to bring sinners to Jesus (Acts- Jude).
  7. ACT SEVEN: “Restoring All Things”: Jesus is coming back to judge the world and make all things new (Revelation).


  1. TOPICALLY: Reading verses pertaining to specific subjects. Example.
  2. FROM BEGINNING TO END: Starting at Genesis and reading all the way through Revelation.
  3. BOOK TO BOOK: Reading various books from start to finish. Example, reading all of John, then reading all of Galatians, etc.
  4. CHRONOLOGICALLY: Reading the Bible as it took place in actual time. Example.
  5. BUFFET STYLE: Reading three passages a day; one New Testament passage, one Old Testament passage, and a portion of psalms/proverbs. Example.
  6. VARIOUS WAYS: One can read the whole NT at a time or just the OT, etc. Example.

*Popular Bible App, YouVersion. Includes audio Bibles and reading plans.

Isaiah 55:9-11, “9 As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. 10 As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, 11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”


  1. Genesis – Our Creator & Promised Redeemer
  2. Exodus – Our Passover Lamb
  3. Leviticus – Our High Priest
  4. Numbers – Our Water in the desert
  5. Deuteronomy – Our Law Giver
  6. Joshua – Our Commander in the Army of the Lord
  7. Judges – Our Deliverer
  8. Ruth – Our Kinsman-Redeemer
  9. 1 Samuel – Our Prophet/Priest/King
  10. 2 Samuel – Our Grace Giver
  11. 1 Kings –  Our Promise Keeper
  12. 2 Kings – Our Truth Teller
  13. 1 Chronicles – Our Faithful King
  14. 2 Chronicles – Our Hope in the Midst of Hopelessness
  15. Ezra – Our Priest Proclaiming Freedom
  16. Nehemiah – Our Restorer
  17. Esther – Our Protector
  18. Job – Our Joy in Suffering
  19. Psalms – Our Song
  20. Proverbs – Our Wisdom
  21. Ecclesiastes – Our Meaning in Life
  22. Song of Solomon – Our Selfless Lover
  23. Isaiah – Our Suffering Servant
  24. Jeremiah – Our Weeping Messiah
  25. Lamentations – Our Interceder
  26. Ezekiel – Our Covenant Keeper
  27. Daniel – Our Friend in the Fire
  28. Hosea – Our Faithful Husband
  29. Joel – Our Spirit Baptizer
  30. Amos – Our Helper
  31. Obadiah – Our Judge
  32. Jonah – Our Great Missionary
  33. Micah – Our Defender
  34. Nahum – Our Future Hope
  35. Habakkuk – Our Vision
  36. Zephaniah – Our Warrior
  37. Haggai – Our Builder
  38. Zechariah – Our Messiah Pierced for Us
  39. Malachi – Our Sun of Righteousness
  40. Matthew – Our Virgin Born Savior
  41. Mark – Our Miracle Worker
  42. Luke – Our Anointed One
  43. John – Our God in the Flesh
  44. Acts – Our Foundation for the Church
  45. Romans – Our Righteousness in God
  46. 1 Corinthians – Our Power
  47. 2 Corinthians – Our Generosity
  48. Galatians – Our Spiritual Freedom
  49. Ephesians – Our Grace Giver
  50. Philippians – Our Joy
  51. Colossians – Our Reconciliation
  52. 1 Thessalonians – Our Comfort
  53. 2 Thessalonians – Our Returning King
  54. 1 Timothy – Our Order in the Church
  55. 2 Timothy – Our Leader
  56. Titus – Our Great God
  57. Philemon – Our Emancipator
  58. Hebrews – Our High Priest
  59. James – Our Faithful Example
  60. 1 Peter – Our Hope
  61. 2 Peter – Our Guard
  62. 1 John – Our Love
  63. 2 John – Our Teacher
  64. 3 John – Our Truth
  65. Jude – Our Coming One
  66. Revelation – Our King of Kings and Lord of Lords, The Alpha and the Omega, The Beginning and the End!

Read the Bible everyday and study it until the Holy Spirit penetrates your heart and mind with the presence, purpose, and power of God!